How Long Is The Royal Wedding?

With the day of the royal wedding almost upon us, it’s time to look at some of the details of the ceremony itself. Despite the highly anticipated marriage between Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, less is known about the length of the ceremony and what takes place during it. What time does the service actually start, and which route will they take? We’re looking in depth and the details of the historic wedding ceremony from start to finish.


Start Time:

Guests will arrive for the royal wedding ceremony between 9:30 A.M. and 11:00 A.M., while members of the royal family will begin to arrive from 11:20 A.M. The ceremony itself is expected to start at 12 P.M. The venue for the ceremony is St. George’s Chapel, Windsor, with 800 guests believed to be attending.


Guests of Honor:

Mr. Thomas Markle, Meghan’s father, was expected to walk her down the aisle until his recent heart attack. Meghan recently released a statement confirming that her father will not be in attendance so he can “focus on his health.”

Lady Jane Fellowes will give the traditional reading, and all three siblings of Diana, Princess of Wales, will be attending the ceremony. The Dean of Windsor will conduct the service and the Archbishop of Canterbury will officiate as the couple takes their vows.

The ceremony itself will take close to an hour to complete.


Viewing:

You can watch the ceremony on ABC, which leads the day off with a 5-hour edition of Good Morning America. Live coverage starts at 5:00 A.M. ET from Windsor. BBC America’s coverage will start at 4:15 A.M. ET/1:15 A.M. PT. An encore presentation of the wedding will air at 10:00 P.M. ET/ 7:00 P.M. PT.

Both CNN and CBS will begin live coverage at 4:00 A.M. ET/ 1:00 A.M. PT. The Today show on NBC will cover the royal wedding from 4:30 A.M. ET/ 1:30 A.M. PT until 11 A.M. ET/8 A.M. PT.

  • 10614935101348454