A Must-See Beginner’s Guide To Horoscopes & Signs

The stars can be quite overwhelming. No, I’m not talking about the night sky. I am, of course, referring to horoscopes. You’ve probably been told that “the stars know everything,” but what if you don’t know anything about the stars? In that case, it’s time to come to terms with your astrological DNA. Welcome to Astrology 101, turn your gaze skyward and prepare for a crash course in the heavens. Class is now in session!

Sun Signs


The sun is aligned with one of the 12 signs on the Wheel of the Zodiac at all times, and it spends approximately 30 days moving through each. This period is known as that sign’s “solar season.” Your sun sign indicates where the sun was positioned when you were born. In order to identify your sun sign, check to see which sign’s solar season includes your birthday.

To assist you in your quest for knowledge, we’ve included a list of each’s sign’s solar season:

Aries: March 21 – April 19
Taurus: April 20 – May 20
Gemini: May 21 – June 20
Cancer: June 21 – July 22
Leo: July 23 – Aug. 22
Virgo: Aug. 23 – Sept. 22
Libra: Sept. 23 – Oct. 22
Scorpio: Oct. 23 – Nov. 21
Sagittarius: Nov. 22 – Dec. 21
Capricorn: Dec. 22 – Jan. 19
Aquarius: Jan. 20 – Feb. 18
Pisces: Feb. 19 – March 20

Ruling Planets and Elements


Now that you know your sign, it’s time to learn what sets it apart from all others. Each sign has a specific ruling planet which tends to exert more influence over its given sign than the other planets do. Keep in mind that the Sun and the moon function as ruling planets. Your sign also has a ruling element which can be either fire, earth, air or water.

Aries: Mars, Fire
Taurus: Venus, Earth
Gemini: Mercury, Air
Cancer: The Moon, Water
Leo: The Sun, Fire
Virgo: Mercury, Earth
Libra: Venus, Libra
Scorpio: Pluto, Water
Sagittarius: Jupiter, Fire
Capricorn: Saturn, Earth
Aquarius: Uranus, Air
Pisces: Neptune, Water




A sign’s quality is not a measure of how good, it is. Rather, quality refers to the time of year during which a sign celebrates its solar season. Signs with solar seasons that begin at the start of one of the four seasons of the year (Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn) are known as the cardinal. Those whose solar seasons that fall midway through one of the seasons (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius) are fixed, and the ones that close out the seasons (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces) are referred to as mutable.

If you feel that you’re being bombarded with astrological jargon that you still can’t quite understand, don’t be discouraged. These things take time, and the heavens can wait. Remember not to take your horoscope too seriously!

Top 10 Outdoor Brunch Spots In America
Top 10 Outdoor Brunch Spots In America
  • 10614935101348454