Some States Will Require Passports For Flights Within The U.S.

Passports aren’t just required for international travel now. Come January 22, 2018, nine states will require flyers to have a passport to board any flight, even if it’s within America.

Because of the REAL ID Act of 2005, nine state’ IDs and driver’s licenses will not meet government standard. The nine states are Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington.

These states have roughly three months to update their driver’s licenses to match the federal standard. If not then you have to apply, renew or find your passport! The new requirements from the REAL ID Act require that all driver’s license or ID cards have your full legal name, signature, date of birth, gender, an identifying number, address and your photo.

Green cards and military IDs are still okay to use for flights, so don’t worry if you have one of those!

If you live in one of those nine states make sure you keep tabs on if they are updating their license’s and IDs so you can get a new one. They have three months to get their shit together and update their IDs. Or you could start filling out a passport application just in case.

Starbucks Is Getting Spooky & Releasing A Zombie Frappuccino
Read More:
  • 10614935101348454