Call me old-fashioned, but I’m still an avid Facebook user. I know kids these days are more into Instagram and Vine, but if I deleted my FB page, I’d be saying goodbye to every picture and “friend” I’ve had in the past eight years. Besides, how I am supposed to stalk ex-boyfriends without it?
The past day or so, Facebook users like myself have probably noticed your crush from freshman year of high school or that friend’s cousin who added you even though you met once have been posting the same status. This status:
By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.
I shouldn’t even have to tell you this, but it’s a hoax.
This particular con first circulated back in 2012 and just happens to be circulating again, prying on the fear that people might share all those embarrassing selfies from high school with the world.
When this first happened back in 2012, Facebook released this statement:
“There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users’ information or the content they post to the site. This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.”
So you’re safe. At least as safe as one can be on a social networking site where you post everything from your location to where you went to school. But yes, copy and pasting a status should stop that in its tracks.
You’re better than this, people.